Little Dragon. What can I say about them? They are probably my favorite band all around. They also have the most unique style but it’s soulful too. Yukimi has defined her style and so has the band. When I first heard her voice, I called her the Asian Erykah Badu. I’m sure Erykah would agree with that too. Now when it comes to the band, the music has an 80s vybe but Yukimi brings it together with the soul. She grew up listening to American folk but had love for R&B and you can hear it in the music. My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of seeing Little Dragon and the Black Cat in DC last year and it was an amazing show. People in the room seemed almost hypnotized. The crowd was super diverse. Everyone danced and no one sat around trying to look cool. Only true artistic music can make people shake off their day and just do some crazy dancing like that. I love it and hopefully you will too.

Little Dragon – “Constant Surprises”
Little Dragon – Twice
Little Dragon – After The Rain
SBTRKT feat Yukimi – “Wildfire”


Here with Wildfire, I’m cheating a bit because it isn’t actually Little Dragon but the song is produced by South London producer SBTRKT (pronounced ‘subtract’)

Little Dragon – “Ritual Union”
Comments
  1. The Other Me says:

    I’m really liking your taste in music! I heard Yukimi years back on a Nordic soul compilation. She had a different style back then, but her vocals still haunted me. Then found Little Dragon through a very hip cousin! These guys are amazing! I need to catch a show.

Leave a Reply

