R.I.P.Whitney Houston

Posted: February 12, 2012 in Deep music, Party music
Tags: , , , ,

Whitney Houston (9 August, 1963 – 11 February, 2012)

So yesterday Whitney Houston, hands down one of the top if not the top singers of my generation, went to a better place. Her impact on music in the 80s, 90s and beyond can’t even be measured. She made great pop music but could really sing. I would argue to say that if you debate with anyone they would say she was THE best singer. Her only real competition during that time was Mariah Carey. Whitney still had that extra soul and likability factor.

I must admit that back in the day I had a crush on Whitney Houston. See…kids these days won’t understand that because they grew up witnessing Whitney looking strange and acting erratic but back in the day that smile was infectious. Her smile was part of her brand almost. Plus she had that energy in her songs. The curly hair in “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” is the Whitney that I remember. Even though I was a kid, the 80s were fun and Whitney embodied that spirit in her music.

I have a funny story about a more serious song…”Greatest Love Of All”. When I was in elementary school, my parents worked late so I stayed in after school care like most kids. I remember on several occasions trekking up the hill to Popeyes and singing this song in our chipmunk voices in front of Popeyes then getting free chicken. As hood and stereotypical as it sounds..it happened. And at the time, I was loving it. So that song has a personal memory for me. Even then I knew the song was deep and having to learn the words helped the message sink in…that and a bucket of extra crispy chicken. ha!

Whitney, we will always love you! R.I.P.

Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody

Whitney Houston – So Emotional

Whitney Houston – How Will I Know

Whitney Houston – Greatest Love Of All

Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You (Bodyguard Film Music)

Comments
  1. Ernise Benjamin says:

    U couldn’t have said this better Ajani and yessss, one of the greatest singers of our generation!

  2. daki says:

    yep I remember those Popeyes concerts! lol…

Leave a Reply

